Exporting a video that is 120fps

I'm new in editing slow-motion footage, I recorded my videos in 120 fps and now Hitfilm is having a hard time exporting it, It's giving errors. What can I do to retain the slow-motioness of my video? Thank you!

Comments

• NormanPCN
    NormanPCN Posts: 4,139 Enthusiast
    edited March 2017

I really cannot see why you would want to export 120fps.

You talk about Slow motion. If your output is 120fps then for slow motion your camera must have recorded at well above 120fps. 

I can speculate based on some information in your post. Action cameras can record at high frame rates. 120fps is one of those. (For GoPro and to be precise 119.88) Unlike most cameras recording slow motion the action cams mark the playback speed as "normal" and the high record rate. To get slow motion you have to playback at a frame rate slow than the recorded. In Hitfilm you do this via the Media panel properties.

Most pro(ish) like cameras mark the file at a normal playback rate, say 24 or 30fps, but record at a higher frame rate. e.g. 120. Therefore slow motion without any adjustments.

Again speculation, so really you want a normal/standard playback rate in your project. Like 24 to 30 fps. The speed of your normal speed recording if you have such media. If all your media is recorded at 120fps and you want some of it slow motion and the rest at normal. Then choose a standard/common/typical playback rate for the timeline, e.g. 29.97. Import the media twice and on one of them change the playback speed to something less than 120fps for slow motion. e.g. For 1/2 speed 60/59.94, for 1/4 speed 30/29.97. Doing it this way will have Hitfilm use all the recorded frames for slow motion. The speed effect for sure and probably rate control will just duplicate conformed frames and the slow motion will not be as smooth.