A bit frustration

Harold2022
Harold2022 Posts: 4 Just Starting Out
edited July 8 in HitFilm

I am new to hitfilm. I read many good things about this software, so I created an account and downloaded free software. To my surprise, it has an expiration date. I finally realized this is a demo version, not the express version. Fortunately I know some basic knowledge of the Windows. So uninstall the demo, and re-downloaded the express and installed the express version. Guess what? I can not activate it! Because my account is a demo version, not an express! Bingo! It can not be activated so I can not use the express.  Is there something wrong here? Why are there so many barriers for new users?

A very disappointed new user.

Tagged:

Answers

• JavertValbarr
    JavertValbarr Staff Posts: 372 Staff

There is no "expiration date" on any versions of the software, and there is no longer a demo version either, so I'm not sure what you downloaded.

This is the latest How To Download tutorial for HitFilm: https://youtu.be/3CxNu3ocUkY

• Harold2022
    Many thanks for your reply. Here is the story:

1 After searching and learning from internet, I downloaded Hitfilm and installed on July 7. Actually I used the same download page as you mentioned in your reply.
    2 Upon start the Hitfilm after installation, on the top right corner, there is an "Upgrade" instead of "Activation"
    3 By following the File -> Options -> Activation, I have the following screen:
    License to: my account
    License type: subscription
    License plan: free
    License: End: Aug 7, 2022
    Hardware ID: ......
    4 The output video has a big watermark "Hitfilm" in the middle of the video. No add-on used, just simply import a short video and then export.

From the web, there is an Hitfilm express for free, however I can not find the download link from your website. I do find a download link from reddit, but the watermark is still there.