Adding glowing outline to moving Fortnight character.

codefn
codefn Posts: 1 Just Starting Out
edited September 20 in Post-production techniques

I am still a novice to hitfilm express, but I like editing fortnite videos. I am trying do an effect where I can create a glow outline on a moving person. I can do it on a still but if the character moves then it all goes badly wrong.

8-9 seconds into the example video below, it does exactly what I am trying to achieve

(473) (Tutorial) How to make *INSANE* Skin Glow Buildup (RotoBrush) (PremierePro & AfterEffects) *UNIQUE* - YouTube

would anyone have any tips or ideas? on what effect does this in hitfilm?

thanks Josh

Answers

• Stargazer54
    Stargazer54 Posts: 3,435 Ambassador

@codefn Fortunately a tracker is built into Express.

You will need two things. First you need to isolate the figure from the background in its own composite shot. This can be done by drawing a mask around the subject. To keep that moving with the figure, the second thing you'll need is to track the motion and then attach the mask to the tracker. You may also need to turn on animation for the mask (Mask layer, Transform, Path) to adjust its shape throughout the scene.

Once you have your character isolated create another composite shot of the original footage and then drag the character/mask comp onto a layer above it. Then add your glow effect to the character/mask comp layer.

Google is your friend here. You'll need to search for and watch some tutorials on HitFilm and motion tracking.

Here are a couple to get you started:

And this one. Jump to 1:35 to get right to the tracking part.

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,070 Ambassador

So the After Effects "Rotobrush" is something that doesn't have a direct analog in Hitfilm.