Image import issue

nistelrooy
nistelrooy Posts: 1 Just Starting Out

Hi,

I hope there's someone who can help with with a very frustrating issue. I've been using HitFilm for 3 years, and never had any probem with. Today I started a new project, and wanted to import several jpg files. The import was done, but the jpgs were imported not as images but as videos, and I just don't understand why. There are some pictures which I used before for other projects, and back than those were just simply imported as pictures, everything was fine. But now when I do the import with the same pictures, then they are imported as videos (duration: 0,13sec and 25 or fps). More strange: there are some jpg images which are imported normally, but only 10%. The rest are videos. I've already reinstalled the program 3 times, but the issue remained. Does anybody got any idea how to fix this?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,190 Power User

Hitfilm 15 or 16 slightly changed how Images are imported. What's happened is changes were made to make it easier to import image sequences. A side effect of this is it's become easier to accidentally import an image sequence instead of a series of individual actions.

An "IMAGE SEQUENCE" is importing a bunch of images and treating them as a video clip. This is often a desired behavior - think of importing a time lapse shot with a DSLR for example. Image sequences are usually a series of images in the same folder with identical file names with a incremental counter. I.e, "Image_2467, Image_2468, etc" or "DSC_20210226_121314, DSC_20210226_121315" etc.

Bear in mind that Hitfilm is not glitching and this is not a bug. The devs just changed the way a function works in such a way that it's become problematic for some users.