Hi and Purchase Advice

pao1os
pao1os Website User Posts: 5 Just Starting Out

Hello,

I have some limited experience with video editing for YouTube using DaVinci Resolve and Cyberlink Powerdirector which I currently have. I find the correction tools in Powerdirector very clunky and do not want to make an additional purchase for the colour grading add on. My laptop struggles to edit 4K with Resolve (though Powerdirector will work with 4k ok).

I would like to try HitFilm Express but would like advice on a few things:

Firstly my laptop, while quite powerful is also getting on, specs are: I7 quad core 2.5 Ghz, RAM 16Gb 1600 SODIMM DDR3, Dedicated NVidea GeForce GTX870M 6Gb RAM, Kingston 1Tb SSD (upgraded) running Windows 10. Will I be able to edit 4k with this spec using HitFilm?

Secondly, if not does HitFilm have a way of downgrading 4k files for editing like Resolve (albeit painfully slowly) does?

Lastly I would like to sharpen, adjust colour accurately (preferably with colour wheels), apply LUTs, create animated titles to overlay with moving shapes (masking?), I also like the sound of the VFX Lighting (but I am not sure that the laptop is powerful enough to work this). So which of "Starter", "Content Creator" or "VFX Artist" would you recommend I go for?

Sorry for all of the questions but I would like to get it right first time if possible.

Many thanks

Paul

Comments

• EvilDaystar
    EvilDaystar Website User Posts: 300 Enthusiast

I make my own 720p proxies using handbrake when dealing with 4k originals. I use the 720p resized to fit frame and when done I relink the media to the 4k and again resize to fit.

• pao1os

Sounds quite long winded, I take then HitFilm doesn’t have that functionality?

• EvilDaystar
    edited December 2020

It's not that bad actually, it dsounds worse than it is ... they used to do worse in the day before digital LOL.

As for HitFilm not having that capability ... I haven;t found it myself but that doesn;t mean it;s not there. :)