Thinking of purchasing HitFilm 3 Pro

PHVideo
PHVideo Posts: 2
edited November 2015 in General

Hello,

I am thinking of purchasing HitFilm Pro3 but I have a couple of questions I hope someone can answer for me..

My main work is wedding video's  and I'm looking to change from my current editing package, Avid Studio (which is now incompatible with my system upgrade) is HitFilm suitable for my line work?

Also as I need to burn Blu-ray and DVD discs can anyone suggest a suitable program to author discs?

Thanks,

Paul

Comments

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,072 Ambassador

As a wedding videographer myself I think I can give you some perspective. 

First, try out Hitfilm Express. It's free, and, while it lacks a lot of the advanced features of Pro, the basic editing features are completely intact. This will let you determine how Hitfilm's edit workflow meets your needs without committing to the buy. You'll have most of Pro's color correct/grading tools to try, and the basic text engine. 

For your cuts, it should be noted that at this time, Hitfilm doesn't support any kind of auto-synching or multicam tools, so if you're used to a workflow where you line up shots and "switch" between them, you won't find those tools in Hitfilm. 

In short, Hitfilm's editor is more suitable for a film/dramatic workflow than for events. 

Hitfilm has some fantastic color/grading tools and powerful compositing that is useful for adjusting your footage and creating dynamic titles and transitions. 

Mocha Hitfilm (bundled in Pro, optional add-on for Express) is a must have if you want to insert titles hanging in your shots--a popular trick.