Hitfilm Ultimate has to exit...

Hey guys... this is my first time posting on the new forum, but I hope to start having a more active presence soon!
Anyways, I've been using Hitfilm to create muzzle flashes and other effects for a feature film. At the moment, I can't really reveal much more than that --- except that it's sci-fi, shot-in-3D, and that Axel Wilkinson is lending his expertise to a couple of shots. Up until now, it's been pretty smooth sailing, but unfortunately, I seem to have encountered my first problem.
A few days ago, I clicked the "eyeball" to activate the visibility for a layer... and I instantly received this message:
We're sorry. Hitfilm Ultimate encountered a problem and has to exit. To help us fix this problem, please send the crash report to us.
When I opened the project again, and tried to perform the same task, I got the same result. I then noticed that it happens when I try to turn visibility on or off for seemingly any other layers within that same project. At first, the problem was only confined to that specific project, but today, I've been getting the exact same error message with different projects. It's not restricted to toggling visibility on or off... but it now happens when I try to do other things... like dragging media onto a shot, deleting project media, deleting items from the timeline, etc. It doesn't matter what project I'm in, or what function I'm doing... I'm now crashing Hitfilm almost every time I use it.