Problem Replicating Camera Solve Tutorial Results

I'm new to HitFilm, and was trying to follow along with Axel's Mocha camera solve tutorial found here using HitFilm 3 Pro. The two planes track correctly, and when I do the solve, Mocha reports a solve quality of "99%," just as in the video. However, when I export the camera data, and load the composite into HitFilm, the camera data is garbage, and doesn't come close to matching the shot (in fact, it almost seems like the camera movement is reversed). The 3D effect that should stay fixed within the shot goes shooting off to the right, and out of frame. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. 

Comments

• StephansBilderweltStephansBilderwelt Website User Posts: 523

Did you reset the position of the effect, so it matches the camera?

• jbaysingarjbaysingar Website User Posts: 3

Not sure what you mean. There was nothing in the tutorial about matching the effect to the camera. It was my understanding that simply having the camera solve in the composite should adjust the effect to keep it in the same relative spot in the shot.

As an update... "Auto" was choosing "small parallax", so I tried a solve manually selecting "large parallax" and I got a better solve, but there was still horizontal drift when the parallax move happens in the shot.

• PalaconoPalacono Website User, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,442 Enthusiast

I had exactly this problem, as posted here: http://hitfilm.com/forum/discussion/6349/hitfilm-3-pro-and-mocha-solving-problem

The consensus was that Mocha is pretty flaky and you just have to solve it multiple times until it gets it right.

• jbaysingarjbaysingar Website User Posts: 3

Thanks. I'll keep retrying to see if I can get a good solve. It's a little disappointing that Mocha is so flaky. The plane tracking is working just fine, so I don't know why the camera solve is so off. And as you pointed out in your post, it's odd that re-solving the same input parameters would produce different results.