Complete novice requires optimum system setup

ShawnharrisShawnharris Website User Posts: 9

So I've had Hitfilm 3 pro for about 5 months now, I haven't had much time to understand or use it yet, but what I do know is every time I boot my system and start Hitfilm 3 pro, playback is clunky and stop starty, I might have some increment playback configured, I don't know, but I first want to make sure I have the minimum system requirements and that I have my system and Hitfilm 3 pro configured for best performance.  I'm using a HP Pavilion DV7 laptop, 64 bit windows 7 Home premium, 8 gig ram, AMD Phenom 2 N830 tri-core processor 2.10 Ghz, 500 Gb Hardrive with 250Gb free.

Could any one suggest the best configuration settings for my system and Hitfilm 3 pro?

Comments

• davide445davide445 Website User Posts: 306 Just Starting Out
    edited March 2015

More expert can comment, but looking at your specs your CPU is really slow, with half the speed mine 2011 old i5, your GPU ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 it's also really slow (look at cpubenchmark and videocardbenchmark.net).

Most pepole here suggest to look at gaming specs, meaning for me a good i5 and min a Nvidia 580M/675M or AMD 6990M discrete gpu for a laptop, Nvidia GTX 750 or AMD R7 260X for desktop. All above is better.

• ShawnharrisShawnharris Website User Posts: 9

Oh that's why its a bit clunky, I have got my eye on a new PC sometime, but at the moment this one will have to do, so I can understand and learn some very basic Hitfilm 3 pro concepts etc, later on I will make my more advanced movies on the new PC.  In the mean time is there anything I can tweak with what i have, I know Cubase for example recommends setting Windows System performance options for slower machines,  are there some suggestions for Hitfilm. also is there any configuration setting within Hitfilm itself to allow it to flow a bit better e.g. buffer sizes, frame, and picture settings, file types etc....