HitFilm vs Vegas Pro

ShawnharrisShawnharris Website User Posts: 9
edited February 2015 in Post-production techniques

I'm an absolute novice to video manipulation, I purchased Vegas Pro only a few months ago, and I am yet to understand its full potential, I only purchased Hitfilm  yesterday because it was bundled with a bargain offer from Sony, but what is the difference between the two programs?

I have one other question also.  On the first video tutorial on Hitfilm 'first steps' project one, the part where Axon Wilkinson has edited separately the piece of the wall to break away as the bullet hits it - is this something that Vegas or Hitfilm has the potential to edit, or how was it done, what software was used?  

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,275 Ambassador

In brief, Vegas is primarily an editor that has some basic keying and layering features and a selection of effects for color correction and creative tools like blurs and 2d effects. Hitfilm is an advanced effects and compositing program that can create a wide range of complicated animation and effects work impossible in Vegas, as well as basic editing tools. 

For assembling media clips into full projects Vegas is far faster for assembling timelines, setting up transitions and fades. It's audio tools are the best of any NLE, and it has tools for multicam production Hitfilm doesn't have. 

For shots where you need to composite elements together, track movement, animate models, and, in general make a VFX extravaganza, it's all about the Hitfilm.