Anyone know if MXF exporting is coming?

I'm a Media Composer, Pro Tools, Resolve artist and Hitfilm would fill a nice void in SFX at the facility here. However, without MXF to move between platforms it seriously blocks adoption of Hitfilm here. 

Any ideas if MXF is even a consideration?

Thank you.

Comments

• WhiteCranePhotoWhiteCranePhoto Website User Posts: 896 Enthusiast

I certainly hope it is. Or something that will allow HitFilm to interoperate with other software. I'm working on a film that I'm editing in Edius (because of the large number of ProRes files problem), that's going to require a lot of compositing fairly soon, and right now there's no practical way to do that in HitFilm. Which is a bummer, because HitFilm's chromakey effect is amazing.

• RobinDaviesRollinsonRobinDaviesRollinson Website User Posts: 40

I suppose those of us who use Sony Vegas Pro 13 are lucky, since we can have mxf files on the Vegas timeline which is fully integrated with Hitfilm.

Right-click a shot in Vegas and move straight to Hitfilm for compositing.

One thing which would be better though would be the ability to open the files in Mocha as well...

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,275 Ambassador

Vegas/mocha integration would be a Wishlist item for Imagineer. 

Regarding Hitfilm import/export to/from other software, I recommend using PNG image sequences (if your footage is 8-bit-per-channel color) or Open EXR image sequences (16-bit/channel) to move. Yeah, it's another step, but it usually takes less time to render image sequences than video files, it gives you the best possible output to transfer (because you're not compressing and recompressing), and Hitfilm can import/export both formats.