Newbee: Importing .obj from Blender (text) creates strange shadow on text

Hi! Im new to this, but i tried to create a text in Blender and exported that as a .obj file. And then tried to import it in Hitfilm 3 PRO, but on the import screen the text had strange shadows on it. What did i do wrong?

Screenshot of import of 3D object .obj

Comments

• mark_emark_e Website User Posts: 190 Just Starting Out
    edited January 2015

looks like your normals may not be consistent when you have converted the text object to the mesh, convert to a mesh, go into edit mode hit A a couple of times until all vertexes are selected, to control N to recalculate normals or it's in mesh normal, recalculate outside.  When you export to obj there is an option to force triangulation as well, click that for good measure as we have seen issues on imports that are quads.  

If that doesn't fix it post the blend file and I'll have a quick look! 

(to check normals, they will look black if the wrong way around, on the right hand tool bar you can click the normals selection and it will send a little line out from each face/line/vertex in the direction of the normal so you can visualy check, also in shading you can turn on back face culling that will hide any face that is not a front so it's easy to see as you are modeling.  lots of other stuff as well as you dive in deeper :-)

• spydurhankspydurhank Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,829 Ambassador

Also try... alt+j

This will remove double faces which always occurs when you convert a text object into a mesh.

• VikingFilm65VikingFilm65 Website User Posts: 261

Ok, thanks for swift reply and the fix. I tried to do what you said, it kinda worked, except the text got dark.

Test text from Blender v2, now dark text in HF3

here is the link to the project file: https://www.myotherdrive.com/dyn/file/262.153518.29122014.93070.6a6afi/Test_txt.blend