What is the correct workflow for multiple sliced shots?

Seasky
Seasky Posts: 10 Just Starting Out
Hello! I am currently trying to make a video that NEEDS to syncs with an audio.

Because of this, I have sliced my video into multiple medias in my Editor Timeline and matched with my audio. Now I'm trying to edit it, but most of the tools I need are on the Composite Timeline.

Since I can't turn multiple videos into a single Composite Shot, what is the best thing to do?
Should I render another video and re-import that video to use a single Composite Shot? Or should I have been using the Composite Shot from the start? (I feel like this last option would be very painful since I'd be using dozens of layers, doesn't make sense to me but I'm a complete novice)

I am not sure what is the best workflow for something like this, does anyone have tips on the best workflow for something like this?

Answers

• Seasky
    By the way, I've read a few threads about this such as

https://community.fxhome.com/discussion/50739/how-can-i-group-several-clips-together

but I feel like I'm using the Editor Timeline correctly: I'm using it to put my shots in the desired order, the issue is just that I have a few dozens of them in small timeframe.
  • Seasky
    To clarify, my issue is trying to use keyframes (like adding zoom) between multiple clips: I can only add zoom within a clip, so if I want to use and keep zoom throughout 5 continuous clips, I need to add the same zoom to 5 clips instead of being able to keyframe the 'sides'.. I could not find a workaround.
  • NormanPCN
    NormanPCN Posts: 4,385 Expert

You can put a grade clip on a video track above your editor timeline clips and add the zoom to grade clip. The zoom will be applied to everything below it. This is just like a grade layer in the composite timeline. It affect everything below it.

• Seasky
    Hey Norman! Thanks for answering.