Trimmed video clip dragged to editor too long...

progrocker
progrocker Posts: 1 Just Starting Out*

Hi,

I'm a newbie, have read the instructs, but continue to have the flwg issue:

After trimming my video in the trimmer by setting the IN and OUT points, I have a 2 min, 16 second clip I want to create and export. However, dragging this clip from trimmer into the editor results in a 4 min, 59 sec clip; 2 min, 16 seconds of what I want followed by 2 min, 43 seconds of blank...

Please instruct if I must do something else in trimmer, before dragging to editor, so that only the clip I want is on timeline, or how to delete the blank part in the editor...

Thanks

Answers

• Stargazer54
    Stargazer54 Posts: 3,898 Ambassador

Could be that your project settings don't match the footage. The first time you drag footage onto the timeline after the start of the project, the system will ask if you want to match the project to the incoming footage. If you say no, it won't ask again. Look in the media panel and check that your footage dimensions and fps are the same as your project settings.

If not, you can change that by going to File, Project Settings and picking a matching template or manually set the dimensions and fps.

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,288 Power User
    edited October 24

@Stargazer54 I'm guessing you didn't look at the screenshot on this one? It's a rare time you're incorrect.

@progrocker absolutely nothing is wrong here, Hitfilm is doing exactly what it should be doing, and thus is a learning experience for you.

If you look at your screenshot you have two blue bars from 0:0:0:0 to 0:2:16:29. This is the video clip you've added to the Timeline. After that there are no blue bars. There are no clips.