How to stop green screen virtual background from moving

Hello!

Total newbie here, I am a Dad whose 12 yr old kiddo and 10 school friends decided to write and make a star-wars-y movie. Last summer we filmed the first one (7 minutes, plus 7 minute hilarious bloopers), now we are filming the sequel (about 45 min), a year later with the kids growing up, amazing to see.

I am the designated cameraman (iPhone) and editor (iMovie, now learning HitFilm). Sadly for the kiddos, I am not very good at all.

I film against a green screen, in order to add space backdrops etc in editing.

If I pan the camera when filming against the green screen, then the virtual backdrop "moves" as well in playback, making the whole scene wobbly and dizzying.

How can I have the virtual backdrop "move" correctly when I pan the camera when filming against the green screen?

I don't even know the correct terms to use here (I don't think it is motion capture or chroma) and apologize to you all for this.

The only thing I can think of doing is .. not pan when filming and do multiple cuts from different angles. But some scenes would be good with a pan!

Finally, there is almost no budget (left) to buy any expensive s/w or app etc. Maybe for the third sequel.

Help!

Thank you to whoever read this to the end!

Answers

• Stargazer54
    Stargazer54 Posts: 3,889 Ambassador

@Dad_Trying2 Posting a video example of your issue might help us see what you are trying to do. I can only guess that your green screen only covers a small area and when you pan the camera you are panning away from the green screen?

A possible solution would be to motion track something in the shot and attach a green background to that along with a mask to only reveal the areas of interest. This could be done in one composite shot. Then bring that comp into a new comp and perform the green screen key. All easier said than done.