Is there any way to make a non-stationary distortion effect?

Interstellar_1
Interstellar_1 Posts: 2 Just Starting Out*

I'm very new to HitFilm, and I was trying to make a section of video distorted with the distortion itself also changing, but all the distortion effects I could find are just still. Is there anything I could use for this? Also, could I make it happen to a specific part of a clip instead of the whole thing?

Tagged:

Comments

• Andy001z
    Andy001z Lord EarthPosts: 3,492 Ambassador

Learn about keyframing and keyframe the Seed value of the effect over time and this way it will change.

• Interstellar_1
    Interstellar_1 Posts: 2 Just Starting Out*
    @Andy001z Thank you. I will do that.
  • Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,188 Power User

Also, to make the distortion appear only over part of the duration of a clip - say 5 seconds of a 10 second clip - you'd keyframe the distortion to go from 0 (when you don't want to see it) to whatever value you choose. To get a value to "snap" from 0 to whatever, you'll want to set the keyframes from the default "Linear" to "Constant." To have distortion appear over only part of the area of a clip (over, say, a person but not the background), add the distortion to a Grade Layer and mask the grade layer.