Hitfilm and HitFilm Express VIEWER Play button BROKEN

Daya
Daya Posts: 13 Just Starting Out*
Hey, I've been using HFE for over 7 years now without any troubleshooting. It's been amazing!
Last week it stopped working.
Every time I try to press PLAY on the viewer section, the program freezes to a point I have to force kill it from task manager.

PC is fully updated in terms of software and drivers

CPU 10600K Intel

AMD 6600XT

96GB RAM

Win 10 64 bit

I mainly work with mp4 files.
Please help, the program is not usable as of now!

Comments

• triforcefx
    triforcefx United StatesPosts: 1,614 Moderator

Has anything on your computer changed within the past week or so? Any major updates or larger software installations or GPU updates?

Sometimes updates or major changes can actually revert certain drivers (particularly GPU drivers). There’s also a possibility (though hopefully unlikely) that the update broke compatibility with your older version of the software.

Also, I believe someone recently had issues with a beta version of their GPU drivers and HitFilm (and I’m pretty sure it was an AMD system). If this is the case for you, you’ll need to revert to the Stable release.

Try updating your graphics card using the information and links on this page:

• Daya

No, I have not installed anything new, I'm a gamer, streamer and a pc tech myself.

I have not made any changes, it only makes sense that If that were the case I'd revert them and try again. However, it is not.

Just to check myself anyway though, I did go and check the recommended driver on that site and it's the one I have.

So I am at a loss here.. don't know what to do. Can't edit videos.

Support tickets just lay there, unanswered.

• Stargazer54
    Stargazer54 Posts: 3,796 Ambassador

Did you uninstall, reboot, then re-install?

• FilmSensei
    FilmSensei Posts: 3,126 Expert