The BBC News ident, but with limitations

GabrielTudor
GabrielTudor Posts: 85 Enthusiast
edited August 1 in Show off

Hi, there!

I tried to recreate the BBC News ident, but Hitfilm's „Sphere” effect is generating a black background and the only way I can get rid of it is with the Demult effect. However, as you can see in the video, the solid red bars become light red because of that... 😕

Is there anyone here who knows what's the deal with the black empty space in the Sphere effect? I mean if you have a PNG image with the world map and you „sphere” it, apart from the continents, everything else becomes black, although the other part of the picture is transparent.

This is my first attempt to do this, so don't laugh! 😋

It would be great if FX Home guys (@JavertValbarr @TomCowles) would do an advanced tutorial of something like this, as I believe it would be of great help for many who want to do complex visuals involving moving points, spheres etc.

Gabriel

Comments

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,688 Ambassador

I'll have to take a look at this myself. It won't be today, because tonight is a special date night with the wife.

Ok. So... Which version/tier of Hitfilm are you running? With Pro or a legacy Express with 3D models you have an alternate possible workflow with 3D models and material override. @FilmSensei did a tutorial on this, but, Jay, I'm having trouble finding that.

Otherwise - and this is what I need to check - I think the Sphere effect should be properly parsing transparent pixels in your Sphere texture. Unless there's a change in recent implementations of the filter.

What you've got so far is looking really solid. FWIW the lighter bars on the crossing actually looks sweet and gives a bit of extra depth to the animation, even if it's not exactly what you want. The final version is gonna be amazing.

• Andy001z
    Andy001z Lord EarthPosts: 3,489 Ambassador

Looking really good, what is the Blend mode on the layers?