So frustrated...how to activate??

Tiegrsi
Tiegrsi Posts: 2 Just Starting Out

I've been using Hitfilm Express 2017 since 2017. I use it rarely; never had a problem. I've been working on a project for 3 days - one that needed a voiceover. I've never needed to do one before, so I didn't know the 2017 version doesn't offer that. When I realized, I went ahead and downloaded the 2021.3 version to finish the project, which worked fine...EXCEPT the huge watermark and background noise after export. I saw that I hadn't actually "activated" the new version, so I tried going through the pop-ups and...no dice. I don't have a "serial number" associated with my account, according to the error message. Tried clicking the link for "get a free license here"; nope! Link broken. Try the other option on the menu, "GET A FREE LICENSE" in big, bold letters. Surprise - the link works, but the page it brings me to says "Page can't be found". "/

Looked through the "support" here and saw that, although I didn't want to, BUYING the "free" product should fix the issue. I caved and bought the monthly subscription. Logged out of everything and tried opening the software again to "activate and unlock" and I get THE SAME ERRORS. Log into my account, (which has said I have a "free perpetual license", since 2017, btw) and see that the purchase went through...yet still no serial number offered and I can't "activate" the [email protected]$!&@!! product to finish my project.

Please send help...I'm losing my mind.

Comments

• tddavis
    tddavis Posts: 5,201 Expert
    edited July 19

@Tiegrsi Have you checked out this official video from FxHome:

• KirstieT
    KirstieT Posts: 1,271 Staff