Confused about recent changes to Hitfilm

PAGvideo
PAGvideo Posts: 6 Just Starting Out

Hello,

I've been using Hitfilm Express for about 3 months now, to edit wildlife videos. I have found it relatively easy to use (once you understand the terminology!!). Also, lots of short help videos available.

I'm very confused about the recent email "The all-new FXhome is here",

I use Hitfilm Express. No mention of it now; just Hitfilm, Creative and Pro...on subscription.

• Do I need to do anything or can I stay on Express?
  • Are there any advantageous to moving to Hitfilm (free version)?
  • Has FXHOME moved Hitfilm to a model where you HAVE to have a subscription, albeit with a free version. Whereas previously, with Express it is just a program that sits on my desktop?
  • Concerned that they may soon remove the free version and force a subscription (in which case better to stay on Express)?
  • Or am I just worrying too much....😀

Thanks for the product and the help.

Peter

Best Answers

• triforcefx
    triforcefx United StatesPosts: 1,623 Moderator
    Answer ✓

Just to add to what @Andy001z said,

If you never purchased any Express add-ons (add-ons don’t exist in Free and won’t move over), and you only export in 1080p (Free only allows 1080p, not 4K), the new HitFilm Free is virtually identical, but with all the latest updates and features! There’s pretty much no reason not to upgrade.

If you ever want to upgrade to HitFilm Pro, you will have the choice between a Perpetual License or a Subscription. If you go perpetual, you will get 12 months of updates and you’ll always have access to the final version you’re eligible for. If you go subscription, you’ll get the latest version for as long as you pay the subscription. If you stop paying, you’ll revert to HitFilm Free.