HitFilm Express running EXTREMELY slow

Version 2021.3 (18.0.12407.12817)

I've been using HFE for about two years now and I don't know whats been happening lately. Performance has gone down drastically since I've updated it, I looked here to see if there is a fix and was recommended updating and I did. The problem was solved for maybe an hour until it started acting this way again.

I can't move around files (if I move one clip it takes like 2-5 seconds until it responds, and I can't dare to move more than one file around), it takes long to load files in, if I scrub throughout the video I can't go to fast, if I try to import a file it takes long, if I try to snip a file it takes long. Whenever I do any of those things it stops responding and takes an average of about 20-60 seconds to respond unless I close it first. This has been happening for MONTHS, and I didn't say anything before because I havent been editing as much as I was before but its gotten to a point where I can't get anything significant done. I can't roll back to a previous version because the project files that I am working with I've already put at least 20 hours into for a 90 minute video because it has me stopping almost every time I try to get anything done.

I really really like HFE, and I want to know if there is something I'm doing wrong? Has a fix been found for this? Is there a way to roll back to a more stable build and use my project files? I need help because I have to get work done semi regularly and this is completely halting any significant progress.

I don't think it's my PC, I have:

3060ti, Ryzen 9 3900x, 32gb DDR4 running on 3200 MHz, and using an external SSD for files right now, but the problem persists if I use my Crucial P1 M.2.

Thank you to anyone that reads this and gives any advice in advance.

Tagged:

Comments

• triforcefx
    triforcefx United StatesPosts: 1,480 Moderator