How do I scroll a group of videos horizontally across the screen?

DThompson55
DThompson55 Posts: 7 Just Starting Out*

Say I have several videos. I want to arrange them horizontally [1][2][3][4] in a group, so that initially only the first video is showing. Then I want to scroll this group of videos across the screen. It was relatively straightforward in Camtasia to make a group of videos,and then add automation to scroll them. I'm new to HitFilm so I'm not sure how to do any of this. Do I start with a composite?

Best Answers

• GrayMotion
    GrayMotion Posts: 1,613 Enthusiast
    Answer ✓

If it had the latter I could set the initial position of each clip, and then set an automation on the parent composite shot to have them scroll in.

Try staggering the clips (along the x axis) side by side in one composite shot and then parent all the clips to a Point (NULL) then animate the null. The end results is each slide(media) moves to the right in this case at a set speed

Here is a screen shoot of a texture layer I made that is similar to what you seek.

This was a rough concept of the idea.

Hope that helps

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,511 Ambassador
    Answer ✓

You are partially incorrect. While Hitfilm does not have the ability to group clips in a Timeline (look in the Feature Request forum for existing requests to vote up), Hitfilm CAN nest Composite Shots.

In Express you have more restrictive options. The maximum size of a Comp is 4096x2160. In Pro you can make a Comp as big as your GPU can handle.

Otherwise, as @GrayMotion states, you can load in your media, resize and put into initial position, then create a point layer, parent your media to the point layer and animate the point. It will drag the media with it. Points and parenting need to be done in Comp Shots.