Using Blender With HitFilmExpress

yonargi
yonargi Website User Posts: 2 Just Starting Out*

I'm new at this so bear with me. I am making a Christian seminar, using a Blender-made "doll" as the speaker, and she will have about 7 presentations which I hope will be in HitFilm. Besides speaking, there will be quotations up beside her and various clips to add interest and to illustrate her presentations. My question: Will the technology between Blender and HitFilm allow me to do this? I don't want to put a lot of time and energy into something that won't work. Thanks in advance for whatever counsel you can give me.

Tagged:

Answers

• Triem23
    Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 19,933 Ambassador

Ok, the short answer is Hitfilm and Blender work together quite well, and there are several tutorials on the FXhome channel covering Blender/Hitfilm workflow.

The long answer is more like are you using Hitfilm Pro or Express, and, if Express, do you have the 3D Models add on? You'll have different options depending.

Blender can render your "doll" animation to an image sequence with a transparent background (if you're planning on adding your background in Hitfilm. If you have a background in Blender you won't need a transparent background). Image sequences from Blender can be loaded into Hitfilm like any other image sequence. Once in Hitfilm you can add further effects, text, etc.

If you want to keep your model 3D and render the animation itself from inside Hitfilm there are options for this as well - but you'll need the 3D model add-on. You'll have to make certain you've exported your model from Blender in the Alembic or FBX file types with the animation data in the proper format.

There is an export script from FXhome that can help shift Blender data like nulls and cameras to Hitfilm. Largely unimportant of you haven't animated a camera move in Blender.