A lag between recording audio & video

jashothi
jashothi Website User Posts: 3 Just Starting Out*
edited August 17 in HitFilm

Hi there,

I'm new to HitFilm and loving the software. I have recorded video using my Windows native 'Camera App' software, and then imported into HitFilm.

I'm using a Lenovo Yoga laptop. When I filmed on Camera App, there's a very slight lag when I play the video back.

When I import to HitFilm, the lag is slightly more noticeable... I'm wondering if this is down to HitFilm, or the laptop I am using?

Has anyone else encountered this? Is there a way I can stop this happening?

Update: I've also noticed the lag seems to be different in different portions of the final video... [the final file consists of 24 videos edited/merged together)

Thanks in advance :)

Jas

Best Answer

• triforcefx
    triforcefx United StatesModerator, Website User Posts: 1,269 Moderator
    Accepted Answer

@jashothi

Welcome to the forums! I’m glad you’re enjoying HitFilm so far!

Unfortunately, pretty much all laptop built-in webcams are garbage. Even in the most expensive laptops they can be low quality, low framerate, steaming piles of trash. This is your first cause of “lag”. Your phone’s cameras are probably better. Consider using your phone for future videos if possible.

The second issue is something called Variable Frame Rate (VFR). Note that this will affect your phone too, so keep on reading even if you decide to switch to a phone or tablet to record. Phones, tablets, and laptop webcams record in VFR, while more “professional” cameras record in Constant Frame Rate (CFR). Video editors (including HitFilm) don’t count in milliseconds, they count in frames. Because of this, they prefer a Constant (exact same over time) Frame Rate, rather than a Variable (always changing) one. VFR requires extra processing for HitFilm, and it tends to bring the audio and video out of sync.