Video from image questions

ianshere
ianshere Website User Posts: 3 Just Starting Out*

http://www.ckdev.info/muse you can see the video I created here. If these are silly questions, I apologize in advance - I'm a total HitFilm newbie. :-)

1. The ratio is not 16:9 and is not completely covering the space allocated for it. I can't see where to change a setting to make this different. I expected this to act like a video and resize to fill the area.
  2. I'd like to do some 3D effects to the images. Not sure what it's called exactly, but the effect is where the foreground images appear to move against the background like the viewers point of view is changing.

Again, apologies, this is my first real foray into this field.

Answers

• Triem23
    Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 19,362 Ambassador

Regarding question 1:

Which video are you referring to, the top of page banner ad or the "Getting ready for wedding season" vid down the page? The top banner looks like everything is filling in, the bottom was shot with a vertical 9:16 ratio, not a horizontal 16:9 ratio, which presents its own issues.

Anyway, in general programs which are primarily EDITORS will try to automatically fill the frame by expanding the video until something hits the edge of the project frame. Depending on the aspect ratio of the source video and project, this could leave letterboxing or pillarboxing (horizontal/vertical bars). In a 16:9 project 9:16 or 4:3 source video will leave pillarboxes, 18:9, 2.35:1 and 2.4:1 will leave letterboxes. In this case it's up to the Editor to decide how to further edit by filling a frame.

Programs that primarily Compositors (Hitfilm included) will not resize or rescale source media at all on Import, All reframe options are left up to the editor.