Need advice on Camera lenses :)

RQKevin
RQKevin Posts: 18
edited September 2014 in General

Hello guys!

I'm looking for advice for a new camera lens I want to invest in which is the Canon 50mm 1.8. It's really plasticy but the end results look stunning. I am a photographer and I want to move on to video, I own a couple of zoom lenses/wide (I don't own any primes yet) but none can stop down far enough. I was thinking maybe the 1.8, or the Canon 1.4. Now the 1.4 I did some research on and apparently it has a very weak focus mecanism, meaning it can break very easily, if I just bump it slightly. I don't know if that is true or not, so here I am.

I shoot with my Canon 600D (EFS cropI)

So my real question is, do any of you own any of those 2 lenses? And if you do, please tell me the good and the bad. 

Thank you!

EDIT: Here is a screenshot of a video I put together using a 3.5 zoom lens (shot in the evening, I color graded it to look alot darker), now it may look okay, but there is so much grain on there. I understand that a wide open lense will make it alot more shallow, but it will suit my video style alot better.
agxH4YC.png

Comments

• AxelWilkinson
    AxelWilkinson Posts: 5,252 Staff
    edited September 2014

I have the 50mm f/1.8, and it gives a decent image, but it is pretty cheaply built.  It feels more like a toy than an actual lens.  The only advantage it has over the f/1.4 is price.  The f/1.8 is dirt cheap, but that's because it is made cheaply.  And the focus ring is really awkward, being the very front lip of the lens.  Don't get me wrong, its worth the price, but if you set pricing aside, there is no question that the 1.4 is a better lens.  The only issues I've heard with the f/1.4 are with the autofocus motor, but a very small percentage of users report that, and since you will be manually focusing for video anyway, that becomes largely a non-issue.