DaVinci Resolve as an Editor

MichaelJamesMichaelJames Website User Posts: 2,038 Enthusiast
Has anyone started using Davinci Resolve 11 as their editor? I have the full license and I am trying to learn their editor and was wondering if anyone had any personal experience with it and recommendations on materials to learn it.  I am coming from the Sony Vegas world and if I can learn resolve as an editor I can have a 1 stop shop for a majority of my projects.  I am hoping FXhome eventually brings Hitfilm plugins to Resolve or allows for interoperability between hitfilm and resolve because well Resolve has a free version which is powerful.  I could then use the color correcting tools I want seamlessly with the vfx software I want.
Anyways, yes I know I could just youtube or vimeo random videos but I was hoping for a more focused and experienced approach.  So if you know any good videos or resources... please post.

Comments

• jonesbrosjonesbros Website User Posts: 54
    Me and my brother used Resolve to edit our latest video due to issues with Hitfilm importing media. It works very well as an editor, and is fairly easy to get accustomed to if you are familiar with other editing software. I would recommend looking through the Resolve manual. It is very detailed and well written.
  • 3dmus3dmus Website User Posts: 117
    I started playing around with it a bit. At first I had some issues getting my GPU recognised, but got that fixed. Also, it seems to really help to close down other programs that take up GPU memory (in my case photoshop). I had some issues with performance the first time I played with it (dropping frames when trying to do a dissolve).... but tried it again just now and it seems smooth.....
    So...will play with it some more as it's quite slick!
  • HarHar Website User Posts: 400 Just Starting Out