Motion Tracking

maczico10
maczico10 Posts: 1 Just Starting Out

Hi, i'm new to hitfilm and can do basic motion tracking on still objects and one person not moving much. My issues are i'm trying to apply a friends head to a video but the clip i'm tracking goes to another scene a few times without the person i'm tracking,so when tracking stops and i apply my friends head to the video it stays on the video just floating there :-) Also how do i adjust the size of my friends head in keeping with the video as the scene pans in and out. Hope this makes sense and i appreciate any help. Thank you. The pics i've added is after when he's moved so the head size isn't correct to the scene ,if i adjust it , it's then different to the next scene.

Comments

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,519 Ambassador

First thing you should do is split the original clip into multiple short clips with the razor tool. Each camera cut in the original footage should become a new Hitfilm clip. That way you just don't have to worry about shots where you don't want to overlay the face.

Look at two-point tracking. Having that second point will create scale and rotation data. This can help with the camera move.

Without seeing the footage it's hard to suggest good track points - and what you're doing, face replacement, is pretty complex. Especially as a beginner project. If the actors rotate (turn from side to side) during the shot it gets harder. If there's not face rotation, then track each eyebrow. If there is face rotation, look at the collars... The collars will move less than the face, but the face moves above the collar. Tracking the collar will create position data from the neck, and should generate scale data based on the camera moves.

• tddavis
    tddavis Posts: 5,171 Expert
    edited February 2021

@Triem23 Well, now. I would never think of using the collar for those reasons. That is super useful!

• maczico10