4k Footage Scaling Issue

zjennings1016
zjennings1016 Website User Posts: 5 Just Starting Out*
edited January 16 in Post-production techniques

For starters, I'm a noob in general to video editing / compositing and just starting to use Hitfilm, but it has been a fabulous program for me! And these discussions have been great. Thx!

I'm trying to import footage from a couple different devices. One is a Panasonic camcorder. The other is an iPhone 8 Plus. My Hitfilm project resolution is 1080p. Both devices are set to 4k. My thought was I would scale the footage after importing etc. The camcorder footage imports fine. But when I import the footage from the iPhone as soon as I scale it to 50% the footage turns to junk. I tried transcoding using handbrake but same thing. It only happens after I scale the 4k footage. If I import it and playback, it's fine, but as soon as I scale it goes crazy (footage gets chopped up, rotated, mirrored...you name it).

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• zjennings1016

Actually I was wrong it's not anything to do with 4k footage. It does it with 1080p as well.

• CleverTagline
    CleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,253 Ambassador

Welcome to the community, @zjennings1016! :) What are your system specs? OS, CPU, GPU, RAM, and free hard drive space.

• zjennings1016

Thanks!

It's a 2019 MBP

Big Sur OS

2.6 GHz 6-Core i7

AMD Radeon PRo 5300M 4GB

16GB

380GB available.

• CleverTagline
    CleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,253 Ambassador