Length of FXhomes tutorials

freerider74
freerider74 Posts: 7 Just Starting Out
edited December 2020 in General

I like the themes of FXhomes tutorials and the selection of effects being showcased. However, I find the tutorials to short - not all steps are being shown, sometimes it feels more like a showreel.

Yes, you could argue that "if you can't do the tutorial you're not qualified for this tutorial, go back and do a three year old basic turorial made for an earlier version first.. bla bla"

But how about this: why not release two different cuts, one "short" (5-10 minutes) and a longer cut about 30-40 minutes that newbies can follow more easily?

Comments

• apyorick
    apyorick Posts: 64 Enthusiast

I don't know - maybe it's just a matter of personal preference, but I'm a relative newbie and I really like their tutorials. They're scripted, succint and to the point. If I miss or don't understand something I just pause and go back over it a couple of times. They're also broken down into easily digestible units. But again, maybe it's me because I really don't like long tutorials that ramble on and on unscripted.

• triforcefx
    triforcefx United StatesPosts: 1,297 Moderator

For every minute of video you see, there’s probably at least 3 hours of work that went into the production of it (and that’s just regular hours, it takes even more man-hours). While your rate of return does get a bit better for longer content, anything longer than about 10 minutes would make it virtually impossible to keep up with their current twice-a-week upload schedule... and even then, they only save the 10-minuters for special occasions.