Bug: 33% frames lost when rendering videos recorded from OBS (VFR)

Coincident
Coincident Website User Posts: 13 Just Starting Out
edited November 2020 in HitFilm

Hello.

I've been using HitFilm for several months; I'm now on version 15.2.10619.40501 and there's a bug that keeps happening and greatly reduces the quality of my renders:

1 out of every 3 frames is lost when decoding a source video, turning my smooth 60-fps original recordings into stuttery 40-fps videos. This happens on every single video if I:

• record with OBS (settings in the .png attachment)
  • remux the .flv file into an .mp4 file with OBS
  • open a project with that resulting .mp4 file (sample .mp4 file in the .zip attachment)

I know that if I re-encode the .mp4 file using avidemux into a new .mp4, the problem is solved... but only for the first 1h30mins of the video. After that time mark, 1/3rd of frames are still lost. Plus this takes a very long time to do, especially on 2h+ videos .

I believe this is a decoding problem, because the problem also happens in the HitFilm "Viewer" Window, and can be easily spotted by advancing the video frame by frame (shortcut: "." in HitFilm, "e" in VLC).

This severely hinders my ability to put out videos; especially long ones. I have tried many workarounds and none of them seem to work effectively. I'm reaching the point where I'm considering stop using HitFilm and going for other applications instead. I don't really want it to come to that, instead, I would love to see this fixed in HitFilm.

What more can I do to help you folks fix this bug?

My specs: Windows 10 64bit. Intel i7 7700K @ 4.2GHz. 16GB of RAM. GeForce 1080ti. Samsung SSD 850 EVO, and two other Western-Digital HDD drives for storage.

Comments

• TheBenNorris
    TheBenNorris Staff Administrator, Website User, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,005 Staff