Choppy/Laggy video after importing

olijarrett
olijarrett Posts: 2 Just Starting Out

Hey,

I am completely new to video editing.

When I import my video into and play it in the trimmer so I can make some cuts the video plays back in a very choppy manner. When I play the video back on my documents it plays smoothly as it should. But when it's in the HitFilm trimmer it's very laggy/choppy

I have checked the frame rate and it's filmed at a constant 25fps and my PC should be powerful enough to edit it. I have i5 7400, 1060 3gb GPU, 8gb RAM, not amazing but solid imo.

Any suggestions on how to get rid of the lag would be appreciated.

Thanks 😊

Comments

• EvilDaystar
    EvilDaystar Posts: 301 Enthusiast

What resolution video?

What format and encoding?

Compressed formats require a fair bit of work on the pc to decode but offer smaller files sizes while uncompressed videos files are less cpu intensive but are massive.

1- Lower playback quality.

I'm on my phone so I can't get a screen grab but in the lower right corner of the trimmer or the viewer you can set replay quality.

Don't lower it too much on the viewer or effects won't render.

2- Transcode to a friendlier format.

3- Use lower resolution proxies.

Editing 4k? Export 720p. Use that for editing by telling the 720p to fill the frame. When you are done, relink the file to the 4k files and again force fill frame on all the clips.

4- Use an ssd drive.

• EvilDaystar
    EvilDaystar Posts: 301 Enthusiast

Also ifntou can, add some RAM tonyour machine. 8gb on those specs is a bit on the low end.

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 1,995 Just Starting Out
    edited October 2020

Hi,

Welcome to HitFilm!

Playing back video in a dedicated player, e.g VLC or WMP, is vastly different from a Non-Linear-Editor (NLE) such as HitFilm. It conforms, and has all kinds of processing all contributing to it being an apples vs oranges comparison.