Exercises to practice photography on a daily basis - training the creative muscles?

vijay26
vijay26 Website User Posts: 2 Just Starting Out
edited November 2020 in Practical Photography

I’ve been doing photography on and off for 15 years now, started as a teenager. I’ve had a loooong creative dry spell on every level and my dearest hobby suffered from it massively. Until the pandemic I was mainly taking photos when travelling, but I don’t know when that will be an option again and I really miss my alone time with my camera. The creative thirst is also coming back slowly.

Does anyone know a source where there are a set of exercises / topics to give you a little start and guidance? The photo blog used to release this calendar with a word for each day, but I think they skipped 2020.

Thanks 🙏🏻

Comments

• Andy001z
    Andy001z Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,134 Ambassador

Radical idea, take a dictionary, flip through the pages and stop where u feel like them take your finger run down the words and stop, what's the word. Use it to inspire you.

• vijay26
    vijay26 Website User Posts: 2 Just Starting Out
    edited November 2020

Thank you for your reply helpful reply andy.

<Unusual and not germane link removed by moderator>

• AxelWilkinson
    AxelWilkinson Staff Administrator, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 5,252 Staff

There are a lot of 30-day photo challenge lists to be found on the internet, and those can be helpful for forcing the creative juices to flow a bit. Quite a few examples here, so you could pick one that looks interesting and go for it:

https://www.google.com/search?q=30+day+photo+challenge&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjGwuzIrfTtAhWIjp4KHfDxCHwQ_AUoAXoECCsQAw&biw=1695&bih=1462

• DibsMcCallum
    DibsMcCallum Staff Administrator, Website User, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 147 Staff

How about taking a look at a 52 weeks photo challenge.