Dragonball Z-ish power up effect.

I'm trying to create a Dragonball Z-ish power up cloud around one of the actors in my footage. I'd like to make a glowing 3d circle on the ground that he is standing inside of and energy particle particles shooting upward all around him. I just can't figure out how to do this. I am relatively new to hitfilm and love the program. I would really appreciate anyone's input.

Comments

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,062 Ambassador
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WbNrRRW2K8

I am not seeing your Express/Ultimate badge. Assuming you are on Ultimate, take a look as this tutorial. Most of these techniques are similar to what you want to do.

Also, take a look at the Masking tutorial on the Support page. If you didn't shoot your actor on greenscreen, you'll need to know those tools as well.
  • Livid
    Livid Posts: 10
    Thanks for the help Triem23, but I may not have explained myself properly.  The actors were not filmed on a green screen.  I am trying to make a 3D glowing circle on the ground which one actor is standing inside of.  I want it to be visible in the foreground but not visible when it goes behind him.  I think I can make the energy cloud with a particle simulator but the glowing circle is the part I can't figure out.  How do you make an effect seem 3D eithout a green screened actor.  
  • AxelWilkinson
    AxelWilkinson Posts: 5,252 Staff
    For that. you would add a mask to the effect, to remove the area that should be behind the actor.  Or, duplicate the layer with the actor, mask out the area of the actor that appears in front of the circle, and layer that over the top of the effect.
  • Livid
    Thanks Axel...  which brings up one more question for me.  I'm pretty used to photoshop so in photoshop when I mask something out the masked part is transparent.  In hitfilm when I mask something out the masked area is black.  how do I make them transparent so I can do what you said in your last comment?
  • AxelWilkinson