Matte Painting with hitfilm2 express and Blender

Cyreda
Cyreda Website User Posts: 17
edited July 2014 in Practical Filmmaking
I just wanted to share my short work for you and comments are really welcome! Im just learning vfx and i need tips and help. This scene was made with hitfilm 2 express and Blender. I used Blender for rotoscoping everything out on and hitfilm 2 express for making the composite. If i had Ultimate it would be possible to do this just in it, but for now i can work like this.
Comments and tips are really welcome!!
Music made by me.
Final:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4nq9PXP3C8&feature=youtu.be

Old version without any 3d projection:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfpNDWCnU30

Comments

• Triem23
    Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,974 Ambassador
    Beautifully done! I believed it.
  • NullUnit
    NullUnit Website User Posts: 791 Just Starting Out
    That looks awesome! To answer your question, yes you could do that effect all in HFU. You would use different techniques, but it could be accomplished. Off the top of my head, these tutorials would give you a starting point.
    http://youtu.be/Xdv0v_of1tg
    http://youtu.be/I8prB4yKhS8
  • Cyreda
    That looks awesome! To answer your question, yes you could do that effect all in HFU. You would use different techniques, but it could be accomplished. Off the top of my head, these tutorials would give you a starting point.

Yeah :). Of course i tried the Ultimate demo, and this whole thing would be really easy to accomblish in ultimate. I would have to make a 3d solve in Blender or mocha (blender gives really accurate 3d ground projection), use 2d tracking to mask a few planes according to the video and animate the mask of the car. Then use that matte with "set matte" and luminance.