Why is video playback so choppy?

faizanullah1999faizanullah1999 Website User Posts: 2 Just Starting Out

I am a novice video editor. I have been using Blender's VSE for some small projects. I recently downloaded HitFilm Express as I had heard many good things about it. What I realized while using it is that the video playback is extremely choppy. A 1080p video with either 30 or 60 fps plays like a 10/20 fps video.

To check whether my system was responsible for this, I used some other video editors, including Davinci Resolve, Olive and Adobe Premier Pro. I had far better video playback on Davinci Resolve and the smoothest video playback ever on Olive and Premiere Pro for the same video files. Even after adding text and some animation, Premier Pro was working flawlessly without any sorts of frame drop.

Now I want to ask what could be the reason for programs like Premiere Pro or Olive to play the video with such smoothness. Even Davinci Resolve was playing it smoothly, until I added some transitions which resulted in some few frame drops but good performance overall.

What I have tried:

To get a smooth playback in HitFilm, I first lowered playback quality and resolution to 1/2 and then 1/4 but it still didn't play it smooth enough.

Without even adding any transitions, I could still easily see the drop in frames

Next I tried creating proxy/pre-renders. It helped a little. I could play my videos at a reasonable fps but when I added simple text animations over it, Videos still wouldn't play smoothly.

Why can't Hitfilm play these smoothly when Davinci and Premiere Pro provide good playback without even going into proxies ? Don't get me wrong. I have come to love Hitfilm. I prefer it over Davinci because its far easier to use and provides a similar interface to Premiere Pro. But I would seriously like its performance to be improved a bit.