Composite Shot size difference?

bronsterbronster Website User Posts: 4

Can anyone help me regarding image size difference between the Timeline Editor and the Composite Shot? Im a newb, so might be completely missing a step. Here's the scenario:

When I add a still image to the editor time line the size fits the viewer nicely.
When I convert the still image into a composite shot to apply a zoom/pan effect, the image appears to be reduced and is suddenly smaller than the editor timeline viewer size, and a black border is all around it.

Figured I was screwing something up, so I tried simply creating a composite shot from another image and made no edits to it whatsoever, and it did the same thing. It suddenly is smaller on the editor timeline with a black border. Can anyone shed some light on why this happens?  I haven't seen this happening on any YouTube tutorials that I've watched so far.

Much appreciated!

Comments

• Andy001zAndy001z Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,868 Ambassador

I believe it is most likely that your image is a smaller size than your composite size. The default is HD 1920 x 1080 if your image is smaller than this it will have black border, unless you let Hitfilm fit the image to the canvas (resolution of the comp or editor). 

You can do this manually, right click on your media in the composite shot and then select 'Transform' followed by 'Fit to frame' of course if you picture is vastly smaller it might look at bit pixelated if it has to stretch out to far.

• bronsterbronster Website User Posts: 4