Converting 4:2:0/4:2:2 4k to 4:4:4 1080p

fxhomer248796fxhomer248796 Website User Posts: 1
edited May 5 in General

First a warning that I'm a beginner so there's lots I'm not really clear about yet haha.

I'm just trying to make simple edits on my 4K footage, but I realized my laptop can't handle it so I'm trying to downscale it. But I've also heard if done correctly I can get 4:4:4 color 1080p footage out of the 4K footage. How can I do so in hitfilm express or elsewhere? Anyways, the footage is 24-bit with codec AVC / H.264 and color space 8-bit 4:2:0, and it also says High Profile @ Level 5.1 if that means anything. It wouldn't be as easy as simply throwing the footage in the timeline and scaling it down to 1080p, would it? Or would that be successful in capturing better color than typical 1080p?

Comments

• NormanPCNNormanPCN Website User Posts: 3,945 Enthusiast

"But I've also heard if done correctly I can get 4:4:4 color 1080p footage out of the 4K footage."

Yes, you can get effective 4:4:4 1080 media from UHD 4:2:0 media, and yes the scaling must be done a certain way to get the 444 result.

You would have to convert to a format like Cineform RGB or Prores 444. Everything else has chroma subsampling.

I've only tested this 420 UHD -> 444 HD using ffmpeg for the downscale conversion and I was doing it the "fancy" way. By simply keeping the UV channels/plane intact/untouched (they are already half res), and scaling the Y channel down to HD from UHD. I'm not sure about other tools like VirtualDub. So long as they operate with an internal RGB space then the downscale can give the 444 result from a 420 source. You can output Cineform or Prores from VirtualDub.

"It wouldn't be as easy as simply throwing the footage in the timeline and scaling it down to 1080p, would it?"