Object removal test.

rgbiirgbii Website User Posts: 965 Just Starting Out
Occasionally you need to remove something from your footage. You should always try to avoid the 'fix it in post' mentality, but sometimes it happens, so I've been playing with various tools and techniques. For fun, I wanted to see what it would take to remove the hand/phone coming into this BTS shot on a cell phone. No real need to remove it, other than curiosity.
The bulk of the removal was done with Mocha Pro, however, it left artifacts on 11 frames. I'm new to Mocha, so it's possible it could have handled it, but I couldn't get it to do it.
I used Twixtor to recreate those 11 frames based on the two good frames at either end that Mocha created, then used Hitfilm to track the shake in the original, and apply it to the frames Twixtor created.
I spent a lot of time 'playing' around with this, mostly trying to get Mocha to do the whole thing, which didn't work out, so it's hard to say how long something like this would take to do, but just guessing, if I was to start from scratch, it would probably take about 30 minutes, plus some render time.
https://vimeo.com/93340397

Comments

• StormyKnightStormyKnight Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,726 Ambassador
    Well, I couldn't tell from the 'after' clip that the phone had ever been there. Great job!
  • Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,282 Ambassador
    And that was a tricky removal, since that phone occluded a moving actor! Excellent job!
  • SpectralisSpectralis Website User Posts: 12
    edited May 2014
    That's really great work and if it took only 30 mins that's even more encouraging.  I wouldn't have attempted something like this thinking it might take many hours of work.  I don't own Twixtor so if there's some way to do it all in Mocha then that would be very useful.