SLow motion in composing shot

alex8276alex8276 Website User Posts: 3
edited January 22 in Post-production techniques

Hi everyone,

I apologize for my english.

I'm a beginner with hitfilm express! I have a problem when I want make a slow motion in a composing shot.

I use the speed effect. When I slow down the vidéo, I lost the end of this one.

Video 10 seconds - Composing Shot 20 seconds. If I slow the video down by 2. After 10 seconds, I saw the half of the vidéo and I have a black screen for the 10 next seconds.
Is it normal ? Else, how to make a smooth transition for a slow motion ?
Best regards

Comments

• TheBenNorrisTheBenNorris Staff Administrator, Website User, Imerge Beta Tester Posts: 1,435 Staff
    edited January 22

@alex8276 the slow/speed controls and effects in the software a known issue unfortunately, and it is something we are looking at improving in the future.

If I'm correct, you are slowing down a 10 second video, resulting in only 10 seconds of footage. You may need to drag the clip to be 20 seconds long.

• alex8276alex8276 Website User Posts: 3

Hello @TheBenNorris

Thanks for your answer.

In fact, I set a composing shot to 30 seconds. I have a video that lasts 15 seconds. I set the speed effect to 0.5.

At start The slow motion is ok , but after 15 seconds, black screen. So I can't see the end of the video in this composing shot.

Sorry if I'm not clear.

Best regards

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 17,744 Ambassador

@TheBenNorris so, yesterday, when I asked about files conforming to framerate, etc when added to a timeline? Here's a consequence/offshoot. Ben, scroll to the all-caps "WHY?!" below. I'm sure you know what I'll say already. 

@alex8276 this is not a bug. T he Speed effect is working as designed, but, because of the way Hitfilm operates, the Speed effect is a pain in the butt.