How to cast for short film

HeySiriHeySiri Website User Posts: 382 Just Starting Out

So, here's the deal...

I'm a teenager filmmaker and I'm trying to cast for my film. I go to a small private school so I don't have many options there, and I've already casted from my school a bit. But I need to find other ways to find teens who are interested in acting and would want to work on a film (for their portfolio or experience or whatever). I've reached out to a few local acting groups but no real luck Any ideas?

Comments

• kevin_nkevin_n Website User Posts: 1,921 Enthusiast

Hello,

Have you tried going to any number of these groups to present your screenplay or script, to see if anyone wants to be a part of it? If you are able to present a solid plan together with a solid timeframe/schedule, then interest should automatically come from it. Approach people with kindness, smile and best of luck to you! :)

• HeySiriHeySiri Website User Posts: 382 Just Starting Out

@CNK I guess I’m nervous about giving my script to a lot of people I don’t know. I don’t have any copyright or anything? I don’t know the laws in California.

• tddavistddavis Moderator, Website User Posts: 4,175 Moderator

@HeySiri The poor man's copyright back in the day when I wrote short stories and my one novel was to mail a copy to yourself and leave it unopened.  The theory was If it ever was appropriated you could hand the judge in court the unopened postmarked envelope and it would be valid proof.  These days after a certain element of Hollywood got all the copyright laws ramped up, in their favor, of course, I have no clue if that holds or really ever did.

• JBaymoreJBaymore Website User Posts: 333 Enthusiast

Copyright accrues to a work when you create it, publish it (distribute it) and have appended the copyright symbol to it.  Technically that is all you have to do.  However, that basic protection is very weak..... and to really protect it you need to register the copyright.  

See here: