Starting to get fed up with trying to adjust my freehand mask to the moving object.

rudefuk_rudefuk_ Website User Posts: 3
edited December 2019 in Post-production techniques

New issue: 

Used Mocha Hitfilm to crop out the animated object. But when I apply the shot to the 'Editor', the footage became very laggy, showing about 2-4 frames of the footage instead of a smooth 52 frames...

-------------------------------------------------------------Version 1------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all, 

I am a beginner when it comes to using HitFilm. Recently got the Pro version from HumbleBundle but I have used the software previously (Hitfilm Express) a few years back.

Been watching the Beginner Tutorials and playing around with the software.

Current: I want to crop out an animated object and am using the Freehand Masking Tool to crop out. At every frame, I will adjust according to the object. After like an hour of adjusting each frame, I tried to replay back the video to realize that the latest masking shape is being applied to the whole scene.

Want to know: If there is an easier method (maybe integrating the Tracking feature) to mask out the animated object quicker - having every frame mask out the background apart from the moving object.

Comments

• JBaymoreJBaymore Website User Posts: 334 Enthusiast
    edited December 2019

I'm sure someone here who knows far more than I will post a link to a tutorial on this. But to get you started,................

What I am thinking you want to do here is what is known as 'rotoscoping'.  I'm still using HF 11... so not sure if things have changed in 14.... but Mocha Hitfilm applied to the clip in question will give you the tools you need to have a frame-by-frame mask that follows the edges of the object you want to mask out in " animation".