Has GTA V Jumped the Shark?

StormyKnightStormyKnight Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,726 Ambassador
edited April 2014 in General
I never thought I would be the fan of a game in which you get to be the bad guy. When I first heard the controversy and debates about the games content I HAD to check it out for myself......that's just the type I am. I got GTA 1 and that was kinda fun. Running from the cops amused me as I work security for a living and it was the total reverse of what I would do in real life. So I got GTA 2. I wasn't as enchanted with that one and found it more difficult to play as in controller set-up, although I did get through the whole thing twice. I didn't get a PS2 until it had been out for about a year and a half (approx) but in the mean time, a friend's son had it and was playing GTA Vice City one day. I was amazed at the advancement from the previous GTAs; it was almost like controlling a movie rather than a video game. I was hooked. I've got them all now (I think) and found each one to provide hours of fun i.e. wasting my time, and I even got Red Dead Redemption.....not fond of the zombie version.
However, it seems to me, GTA V may have jumped the shark. While it's an interesting idea to play more than one character at a time, I found the story presentation to be more confining to the overall experience and well......rather weak. Really? THIS is what we've come to? Family therapy? Yoga? As Charlie Brown would say,"Good grief!"