What we've been working on- Some animation with HitFilm Ultimate

triciakittytriciakitty Website User Posts: 11
edited April 2014 in Practical Filmmaking
My husband and I wanted to learn HitFilm 2 Ultimate by working on a project we can later use and share with people. I've been illustrating a book written by a friend of ours for 7 years now. Yes, I know...7 years? haha! We work on it when we have downtime from regular work, so it's slow going, but we're almost finished finally. Anyway, we decided to try and learn the software by animating a few of my illustrations to make a kind of promo for the book. We watched and re-watched the YouTube tutorials on the HitFilm channel (thank you guys sooo much for those!) and dove right in. Now, my husband has been playing with HitFilm for a little bit longer than I have, so he knows a bit more than me- I'm just now putting hands on keys. But we're working on learning all we can together. 
So here are the rough animations of two of the elements that will be in the final version. We didn't light the first one yet, and the second one will be tweaked a bit. They won't crossfade between one another in the final, either. We just did that so we could have them both in one clip. Also, the green borders will be chroma keyed out in the final to allow for a sickly greenish mist in which the frames can float about. I love constructive criticism- so anyone who sees how we can make stuff better, please let me know :) 
PS- I'm not trying to promote the book here, just showing you guys what we've learned so far, and this just happens to be the project we're using for practice.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUrHqmd5CuE  

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,307 Ambassador