Image Sequences vs. video file

BudmasBudmas Website User Posts: 4
Sorry about my ignorance toward this as I'm new to editing and such and I can't really find an answer to this as of yet.
I've seen a lot of posts about exporting and importing image sequences into and out of editors. I normally export and import in some form of video file. I've tried to scour the forums here to see what the advantages are in exporting/importing an image sequence and the most I've found is that if I export to a .png file, it keeps the resolution of the original file (I believe that's what I understood). Is there any other advantage of using an image sequence versus a video file? 
Also, when you guys add an effect to an image in a sequence, does it render to all the images in the sequence? Maybe I don't understand exactly how that works. I haven't used image sequencing, so I'm trying to understand how and why. 
Any information would be appreciated, even if it's a link to an old post that I may of missed. Thanks!
Buddy

Comments

• luxgudluxgud Website User Posts: 128
    edited April 2014

Some applications work better if you provide them with an image sequence, for example 3D camera tracking software. This software analyses individual frames. If you supplied it with a video, whilst it might be smaller, interlacing or compression effects would make this hard and inaccurate.
    I too have software that only produces discrete images. These tend to be high quality renders that would be degraded if it when through the video compression process.
    The advantages of a single video file are obviously that it can be compressed and also effects can be applied throughout the video or selectively.

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,313 Ambassador
    edited April 2014