Create A Shadow For A Green Screened Character

Hey there!

I am kind of new to visual FX and I don't know how to make a shadow for a green screened character.  I know how to do it when there feet are out of the shot (you just duplicate them, make it black, change the opacity, and set it to the right angle) but I don't know how to do it when they are in the middle of the shot...can anyone do a tutorial on that? Also I can not seem to find a good tutorial for doing 'light wrap'. Thanks!

Plastic Point Productions

Comments

• tddavis
    tddavis Posts: 5,219 Expert

@PlasticPProductions @FilmSensei has you covered on this just recently (like just last week :) )

Give a watch to this tutorial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Sy8kWMTC7A

Certainly opened my eyes.  I hope this is what you are after.

• JBaymore
    JBaymore Posts: 386 Enthusiast
    edited August 2019

@PlasticPProductions    I'm pretty new to this stuff also... but have started to get a BASIC grasp on this issue.  I'm sure someone else will post a FAR better description here........ but here goes a BASIC description to get you started in some direction close to reality:

First off... set up "make composite shot".  Drag in your greenscreen footage over your background image(s).  Key out the background as usual.  Then you have to convert your footage and any background scenery clip(s) into 3-d. This will automatically also create a 3-d camera (that you can move around if you want/need).   Set the property "casts shadows" to on for your greenscreened element.  MAYBE turn off "receives shadows" for your background image ...... it might cause stuff you don't want.