Water bending in Hitfilm Express

Bookboy03Bookboy03 Website User Posts: 6

(Note: I currently possess the particle simulator add-on pack. And I'd be willing to get more add-on packs if needed)

Alright, so I've been working with Hitfilm Express for a few months now and I'd like to create a Waterbending effect for one of my friends. I found a tutorial for doing the effect I'd like in After Effects, but I'm having a bit of trouble translating it to Hitfilm.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1cfjXd2-Ts&t=214 (The video)

Is there anyone who could explain what I'd need to do to replicate the waterbending sphere effect that they created in this video? (Time stamp is 3:34)

Comments

• DimipapaDimipapa Website User Posts: 310 Enthusiast

Fractal noise under generate, and polar warp under warp will get you the sphere, I'm pretty sure HF can do the rest as well but I'm not good enough to know off the top of my head, playing around with it though.

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,262 Ambassador

The thing is Hitfilm doesn't have a vector blur, so there's a few things you need to do differently. 

First  in the Fractal Noise, change the fractal type to "Fluid." That will just give you a watery look to begin with. (if you have the 360 FX pack with 360 Fractal Noise, use that.

Second  Hitfilm's sphere filter doesn't invert for showing the inside. Either don't worry about it, or, let's do another method... 

Instead of Sphere, draw a circular mask in the center and add Bulge. Play with the depth. Once you're happy with it  copy the layer, flip it, on the top copy invert the bulge (so if bulge was 50, top copy to - 50), then set blend mode.

Use Chrominator or Caustics instead of CC glass.