Canon 1300d (t6) / Nikon d3500 / DJI Osmo x3 ?

VARADLADVARADLAD Website User Posts: 54
edited May 2019 in Practical Filmmaking

So I've decided to take a step up for my film making , thats why I'm looking for a good camera especially for video. 

Canon 1300d (t6) / nikon d3500 / dji osmo x3 ?

Which one of above is good for shortfilms , travel videos , slow motion etc ?

Comments

• triforcefxtriforcefx United StatesModerator, Website User Posts: 1,059 Moderator

Note that I have no experience with any of these cameras, but I hope my thoughts can be useful regardless.

What type of content am I making? You already know you want to make travel videos and short films, as well as being able to shoot in slow motion... So personally, I would choose the camera that has the best portability, that allows maximum creative potential (more on that in a second), and can shoot at high frame rates.

What camera will allow me to best express my creativity? If you love gimble shots, then the Osmo is your only choice here. But if you prefer Depth of field and the looks you can get with various lenses, then go for one of the DSLR options. If you want the slowest slowmo possible with the options you have, then (according to my brief research) the Osmo will get you to 120 fps while the other two only go up to 60.

Do your research!!! Look at as many reviews and as much test footage as you can. Pay attention to the features and limitations of each model (each of them have pros and cons). Find out what accessories you'll need to get (and how much they'll cost). If at all possible, see if you can test the same or similar models. Figure out what you'll need to do regarding audio (you'll almost certainly need additional audio equipment for any of these models)