New G7 comes tomorrow, what used lenses?

I just spent all my budget for the next few months on a new Lumix G7. I know the kit lens isn't going to get me very far, I have some basic Nikon lenses, 50mm prime, a couple zooms, a kit lens from my old d40, but I'm really still new to removable lens cameras. What should I look at getting, the basics for cinematography? I also need a macro lens, I have a Raynox dcr250, but doubt that will do much with the kit lens. Advice? 

Comments

• braj
    braj Posts: 75

I need to get a lens adapter for Nikon, which one exactly u could use help with. Cheaper everything is in order, I am pretty poor. 

• rutxer
    rutxer Posts: 176

Hi there!

The G7 is a great camera! You can find cheap adapters for Nikon but you need to keep in mind the crop factor if the adapter isn't speed booster style. Otherwise a 50mm will give you the field of view of a 100mm (very tight).

Metabones Speedboosters are expensive but I think viltrox makes cheaper ones. Check ALXMNR YouTube channel I think he reviewed it.

And MFT native glass isn't expensive (compared to most full frame glass that is). And considering that the Nikon glass isn't probably too notch, I'd sell them and get something else (unless you have still Nikon cameras and plan to use them).

And... If you'd have to buy one lens, I'd try to find an Olympus 12-40mm f/2.8. It's bright, has manual focus clutch, focuses close (pseudo-macro) and covers 24-80mm, which taking a wild guess is 60-90% usage of 80% of people.

Cheers and enjoy this little gem!!

• braj