New to Special Effects

CreativeMousieCreativeMousie Website User Posts: 5

Hello. I am a traditional artist wanting to learn how to create green screen backgrounds for YouTube videos. I'm not talking about a green screen background with just a basic stationary image, but the kind of background that you can modify and augment with special artistic effects. The best way I can describe what I'm talking about is by giving an example. I'm not sure if this site's rules allow me to post a direct link, but I can give you the YouTube channel names that demonstrate the effects that I wish to learn. One channel is called ASMR Rooms. The other is called ASMR Weekly.

In ASMR Weekly, the creator is actually able to use a stationary photo and edit it to include new objects. For example, he might use a photo of a coffee shop, but there's some imported objects that weren't part of the original photo. (Example, a coffee mug that has steaming coming off it, like a cinemagraph, was obviously imported into the stationary photo.) Additionally, the creator (he specializes in ASMR sounds that help viewers fall asleep/relax) is able to film himself against this backdrop. So, he's talking to his audience and making sounds, whilst behind him his homemade cinemagraphs are moving within the green screen background.

Sorry for such a long post. I am brand new to this site and to digital art. I am wondering what kind of software I should purchase to achieve this technique. I'm assuming I probably need multiple types of software - maybe Photoshop or Maya to create the objects and some other program to create the cinemagraphic effects? I'm curious as to how I would turn the finished product (scene) into a green screen backdrop that I could film myself over. I realize there's a big learning curve to overcome, but I am really excited about learning. Any advice?